Take one Pug..

Some time ago I came across some pictures of someone converting a Dapol/Hornby Pug into a (near enough) Manning Wardle H class which turned out to be from a article by Phil Parker. At the time I had a layout in my shed based on somewhere in North Cornwall and it had a quarry. I was going to have a go at the Manning Wardle for use in the quarry but apart from hacking up the donor Pug I didn’t get very far..
Now I have Tarring Neville on the go I thought it might be a good time to finish the Manning Wardle. The idea is the Manning Wardle and a few other small locos will be seen on Tarring Neville from the near by Denton cement works fleet. The fleet was started a while ago with a Howard Planet 0-4-0 Diesel built from a Roxey Mouldings kit.img-20161017-wa0005

The article is a step by step and gives you some of the rough measurements. I added a few extra bits of pipework, some lamp irons and found a smokebox door in the useful bits box instead of making my own. This is what it looked like before painting.

20170109_175140img-20170108-wa0000

Seeing as I’d already painted the Planet green I thought I should do the same with the Manning Wardle. I was going to go for some red lining on the cabside but after having a look through some books I decided to paint the footplate edge, cylinders and coupling rods instead. This is how it looks at the minute. 20170117_17121820170117_171206

It still needs another coat of paint then I can add its fleet number and add the last few details. I enjoyed building this one so much I’ve already lined up a second one to do that is slightly different.
Something else that got finished over Christmas was the building from the last post. I fitted its guttering and gave it a bit of a weathering so its now ready for bedding into the layout. 20170110_185000

2 thoughts on “Take one Pug..

Leave a Reply

